Skip to main content

FILM 2209/3309: THE BLEEDING EDGE: Home

Articles in conjunction with class screenings

Week 1

Class #1: Tuesday, January 17

Samsara (US, 2012: Ron Fricke)

 

Articles:

1) Reviewer: Roger Ebert (09/05/2012) / RogerEbert.com: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/samsara-2012

2) Reviewer: Budd Wilkins (08/21/2012) / Slant Magazine: http://www.slantmagazine.com/film/review/samsara

 

Class #2: Thursday, January 19

Early Experimentation:

Four Troublesome Heads (France, 1898: Georges Méliès)

Dream of a Rarebit Fiend (US, 1906: Edwin Porter)

Danse Macabre (US, 1922: Dudley Murphy)

German Expressionism:

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (Germany, 1920: Robert Weine)

 

Articles:

1) Dream of a Rarebit Fiend

Reviewer: Ion Martea (11/24/2006) / CultureWars.org: http://www.culturewars.org.uk/EF/ef13.htm

2) The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari

Reviewer: Roger Ebert (06/03/09) / RogerEbert.com: Great Movieshttp://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/great-movie-the-cabinet-of-dr-caligari-1920

 

Week 2

Class #3: Tuesday, January 24

 

F for Fake (US, 1974: Orson Welles)

 

Article:

1) Reviewer: Jonathan Rosenbaum / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/364-orson-welless-purloined-letter-f-for-fake

 

 

Class #4: Wednesday, January 26

 

Art Movements and Cinema: dada

Rhythmus 21 (Film is Rhythm) (Germany, 1921: Hans Richter)

The Return to Reason (Le Retour a la raison) (France, 1923: Man Ray)

Ballet Mecanique (France, 1924: Fernand Léger)

Entr'acte (France, 1924: René Clair)

Anemic Cinema (France, 1926: Marcel Duchamp)

Ghosts Before Breakfast (Vormittagsspuk) (Germany, 1928: Hans Richter)

 

Article:

1) Dada and Surrealist Film, edited by Rudolf E. Kuenzli: Pgs. 13-16

https://books.google.com/books?id=ZDl6HsqFJwAC&pg=PA14&lpg=PA14&dq=dada+film+movement&source=bl&ots=zTq_ljSg_M&sig=LzH90LQXtAmx-j_t_pF1ejzmZM0&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjAtKXo1NbRAhXLjVQKHfv8AC0Q6AEIcjAS#v=onepage&q=dada%20film%20movement&f=false

2) 3 Essential Dadaist FilmsReviewer: Josh Jones (01.08.2015) / Open Culture

http://www.openculture.com/2015/01/three-essential-dadaist-films-groundbreaking-works-by-hans-richter-man-ray-marcel-duchamp.html

 

Week 3

Class #5: Tuesday, January 31

 

Man with a Movie Camera (USSR, 1929: Dziga Vertov)

Clips: Strike / October (USSR, 1925/27: Sergei Eisenstein)

 

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Grant Tracey / Images Journal: http://www.imagesjournal.com/issue05/reviews/vertov.htm

 

Please also see these two outstanding essays by Sergei Eisenstein on montage theory:

1) Eisenstein’s essay The Cinematographic Principle and the Ideogram (from Film Form: Pg. 28):

https://rosswolfe.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/sergei-eisenstein-film-form-essays-in-film-theory.pdf

2) Eisenstein’s essay A Dialectic Approach to Film Form ((from Film Form: Pg. 45):

https://rosswolfe.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/sergei-eisenstein-film-form-essays-in-film-theory.pdf

 

 

 

Class #6: Wednesday, February 2

 

Double Suicide (Japan, 1969: Masahiro Shinoda)

 

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Claire Johnston / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/111-double-suicide

2. Reviewer: Matthew Dessem / The Criterion Contraption: http://criterioncollection.blogspot.com/2011/02/104-double-suicide.html

Week 4

Class #7: Tuesday, February 7

 

Art Movements & Cinema: Surrealism/Cocteau

1) The Seashell and the Clergyman (France, 1928: Germaine Dulac)

Reviewer: Alex Barrett / Nightonplanetearth.blogspot.com

http://nightonplanetearth.blogspot.com/2010/04/essential-experiments.html

 

2) The Starfish (L'Etoile de Mer) (France, 1928: Man Ray)

 

3) The Blood of a Poet (France, 1930: Jean Cocteau)

Author: Jean Cocteau / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/16-the-blood-of-a-poet

Reviewer: Julia Levin / Senses of Cinema: http://www.sensesofcinema.com/2003/cteq/blood_of_a_poet/

 

 

Class #8: Thursday, February 9

 

Short: Un Chien Andalou [An Andalusian Dog] (France, 1929: Luis Buñuel / Salvador Dali)

 

1. Reviewer: Michael Koller / Senses of Cinema: http://sensesofcinema.com/2001/cteq/chien/​

 

The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie (France/Italy/Spain, 1972: Luis Buñuel)

 

1. Reviewer: Carlos Fuentes (03/11/1973) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/109-the-discreet-charm-of-the-bourgeosie

2. Reviewer: Gary Morris / Images Journal: http://www.imagesjournal.com/issue10/reviews/bunuel/

Week 5

Class #9: Tuesday, February 14

 

Avant-Garde: 1930s

The Life and Death of 9413, a Hollywood Extra (US, 1928: Robert Forley / Slavko Vorkapich)

The Fall of the House of Usher (US, 1928: James Watson / Melville Webber)

 

Animation: Oskar Fischinger

1) Study No. 7 (Germany, 1931)

2) Muratti Gets in the Act (Germany, 1937)

3) An Optical Poem (US, 1936)

 

Even – As You and I (US, 1937: Roger Barlow / Harry Hay / LeRoy Robbins)

 

Animation: Len Lye

1) A Colour Box (UK, 1935)

2) Swinging the Lambeth Walk (UK, 1940)

 

Clips: Olympia (Germany, 1938: Leni Riefenstahl)

 

Schichlegruber Doing the Lambeth Walk (UK, 1941: Charles Ridley)

 

Articles:

1. Avant-Garde Film: http://encyclopedia.jrank.org/articles/pages/2902/Avant-Garde-Film.html

 

 

 

 

Class #10: Thursday, February 16

 

Adaptation (USA, 2002: Spike Jonze)

Short: By Night with Torch and Spear (US, 1940: Joseph Cornell) 

 

1. Reviewer: Mike Sutton (2/08/03) / DVD Times: http://homecinema.thedigitalfix.com/content.php?contentid=5454

2. Reviewer: Rachel Gray (9/04/06) / Associated Content: Please see PDF article above with Course Material

3. By Night with Torch and Spear - Reviewer: Ed Howard / Only the Cinema: http://seul-le-cinema.blogspot.com/2011/05/by-night-with-torch-and-spear.html

 

 

Week 6

Class #11: Tuesday, February 21

 

Last Year at Marienbad (France, 1961: Alain Resnais)

Song: "Rock On" (UK, 1973: David Essex)

 

1. Reviewer: Mark Polizzotti (06/23/2009) / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1177-last-year-at-marienbad-which-year-at-where

2. Reviewer: Darragh O'Donoghue (10/28/2004) / Senses of Cinema: http://sensesofcinema.com/2004/cteq/last_year_at_marienbad/

3. Instructions for the game: http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Marienbad.html

 

 

Class #12: Thursday, February 23

 

 

Beaver Trilogy (US,2001: Trent Harris)

Short: The Lead Shoes (US, 1949: Sidney Peterson)

 

1. Reviewer: William Becton / Filmmaker Magazine: 

http://www.filmmakermagazine.com/archives/online_features/beaver_trilogy_PRINT.php

 

2. Todd Solondz on Palindromes - Interviewer: The Exile / Eye For Film

http://www.eyeforfilm.co.uk/feature/2005-05-22-interview-todd-solondz-on-palindromes-feature-story-by-the-exile

Week 7

Class #13: Tuesday, February 28

 

Palindromes (US, 2004: Todd Solondz)

Short: Fireworks (US, 1947: Kenneth Anger)

 

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (04/28/2005) / Chicago Sun Times

http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20050428/REVIEWS/50411003/1023

2. Reviewer: Tom Hall / The Back Row Manifesto

http://blogs.indiewire.com/twhalliii/defending_palindromes

* Please also see PDF interview filed under Course Material

3. Fireworks - Reviewer: Ben Cobb (10/04/07) / Electric Sheep Magazine

http://www.electricsheepmagazine.co.uk/reviews/2007/10/04/fireworks/

 

 

Class #14: Thursday, March 2

 

Avant-Garde: 1940s

Tarantella (US, 1940: Mary Ellen Bute/Ted Nemeth)

Geography of the Body (US, 1943: Willard Maas)
Visual Variations on Noguchi (US, 1945: Marie Menken)

 

Articles:

1. Visual Variations on Noguchi - Reviewer: Shana MacDonald / Senses of Cinema

http://www.sensesofcinema.com/2009/cteq/visual-variations-on-noguchi/

2. Experimental and Avant-Garde Cinema in the 1940s, Author: Thomson Gale (1990)

http://www.encyclopedia.com/arts/culture-magazines/experimental-and-avant-garde-cinema-1940s

 


Maya Deren:

Meshes of the Afternoon (US, 1943)

At Land (US, 1944)

Ritual in Transfigured Time (US, 1946)

Divine Horsemen (US, 1947-51)

 

Articles:

1. Review of Meshes and At Land by Marilyn Ferdinand / Ferdy on Films:

http://www.ferdyonfilms.com/?p=149

2. Review of Divine Horsemen: The Living Gods of Haiti by Chris / EyeForFilm:

http://www.eyeforfilm.co.uk/reviews.php?film_id=16751

3. Collective article on “Dream Cinema” by Martyn Bamber at Cinemattraction:

Essentials: The Secret Masterpieces of Cinema - Dreams

http://www.cinemattraction.com/?p=800

Week 8

Class #15: Tuesday, March 7

.

Stan Brakhage (US):

The Way to Shadow Garden (1954) / The Wonder Ring (1955) / Wedlock House: An Intercourse (1959)  

.

Articles:

1. Author: Marilyn Brakhage / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1471-some-notes-on-the-selection-of-titles-for-by-brakhage-an-anthology-volume-two
2. Author: Paul Arthur / The Criterion Collection
http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/273-before-the-beginning-was-the-word-stan-brakhage-s
3. Author: Fred Camper / The Criterion Collection
http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/272-by-brakhage-the-act-of-seeing

.

Orpheus (France, 1950: Jean Cocteau)

.

Articles:

1. Jean Cocteau's reflections on Orpheus at The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/13-orpheus

2. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (05/14/2000) / Rogerebert.suntimes.com: Great Movies Archive

http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20000514/REVIEWS08/5140301/1023

3. Reviewer: Mark Polizzotti (08/30/2011) / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1971-orpheus-through-a-glass-amorously

.

.

.

Class #16: Thursday, March 9

 

Avant-Garde: 1950s

Rhythm (UK, 1957: Len Lye)

Bridges-Go-Round [x2] (US, 1958: Shirley Clarke)

Aleph (US, 1956-76?: Wallace Berman)

Free Radicals (UK, 1958 [revised 1979]: Len Lye)

Odds & Ends (US, 1959: Jane Conger Belson Shimané)

.

Simon of the Desert (Mexico, 1965: Luis Buñuel)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Michael Wood (2/03/09) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1013-simon-of-the-desert-damned-if-you-do

2. Reviewer: Ed Howard (2/19/09) / Only The Cinema: http://seul-le-cinema.blogspot.com/2009/02/simon-of-desert.html

.

Week 9

Class #17: Tuesday, March 21

.

Persona (Sweden, 1966: Ingmar Bergman)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Hamish Ford / Senses of Cinema

http://www.sensesofcinema.com/2002/great-directors/bergman/

2. Susan Sontag’s interpretation of Persona can be found at: Ingmar Bergman Face to Face

https://thomas-hersey.wiki.uml.edu/file/view/Sontag+on+Persona.pdf

3. Daniel Shaw has an interesting psychoanalytical take on Persona as a horror film in an essay entitled: “Woman as Vampire” at the Kinoeye website: http://www.kinoeye.org/02/15/shaw15.php

.

.

.

Class #18: Thursday, March 23

.

2 or 3 Things I Know About Her (France, 1967: Jean-Luc Godard)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Amy Taubin / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1198-2-or-3-things-i-know-about-her-the-whole-and-its-parts

2. Reviewer: metalluk / Epinions.com

http://www.epinions.com/review/mvie_mu-1074089/content_171566665348

 

 

Week 10

.

Class #19: Tuesday, March 28

.

Medium Cool (US, 1969: Haskell Wexler)

Short: Mario Banana No. 1 (US, 1964: Andy Warhol)
.

Articles:
1. Reviewer: Thomas Beard (05/21/2013) / The Criterion Collection
http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/2773-medium-cool-preserving-disorder
2. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (09/21/1969) / RogerEbert.com
http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/medium-cool-1969
.

.

.

Class #20: Thursday, March 30

.

Performance (UK/US, 1970: Donald Cammel / Nicolas Roeg)
Short: Peyote Queen (US, 1965: Storm De Hirsch)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Adrian Danks / Senses of Cinema
http://sensesofcinema.com/2001/cteq/performance/
2. Reviewer: Mike Lorefice / MetalAsylum.com
http://www.metalasylum.com/ragingbull/movies/performance.html
3. An article on Donald Cammell - Author: Maximilian Le Cain / Senses of Cinema
http://sensesofcinema.com/2002/great-directors/cammell/
4. An article on Nicolas Roeg - Author: Lee Hill / Senses of Cinema
http://sensesofcinema.com/2002/great-directors/roeg/

.

Peyote Queen article:

1. Reviewer: Andrew Rosinski (7/21/2009) / DINCA: http://dinca.org/peyote-queen-film-review/1940.htm

.

Week 11

.

Class #21: Tuesday, April 4

.

The Holy Mountain (Mexico, 1973: Alejandro Jodorowsky)
Short: Necrology (US, 1970: Standish Lawder)
.

Articles:
1. Biography of Jodorowsky by David Church / Sensesofcinema.com
http://sensesofcinema.com/2007/great-directors/jodorowsky/
2. Reviewer: Richard Scheib / The SF, Horror and Fantasy Film Review
http://www.moria.co.nz/fantasy/holymountain.htm
.

Necrology article:
1. Reviewer: Ed Howard (12/01/09) / Only the Cinema

http://seul-le-cinema.blogspot.com/2009/12/three-avant-garde-shorts.html

.

.

.

Class #22: Thursday, April 6

.

Kenneth Anger (US):

Puce Moment (1949)

Eaux d'Artifice (1953)

Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome (1954) / Soundtrack: ELO's "Eldorado"

Scorpio Rising (1964)

Rabbit's Moon (1979)

Lucifer Rising (1981)

.

Articles:

1. Anger's Official Website: http://www.kennethanger.org/

2. Author: Maximilian Le Cain (January, 2003) / Senses of Cinema

http://sensesofcinema.com/2003/great-directors/anger/

Week 12

 

Class #23: Tuesday, April 11

.

News from Home (Belgium, 1977: Chantal Akerman)

Short: La Chambre (Belgium, 1972: Chantal Akerman)

Extract: Walden (US, 1965-68: Jonas Mekas)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Ed Howard (01/16/2008) / Only the Cinema

http://seul-le-cinema.blogspot.com/2008/01/116-lop-oncle-yanco-news-from-home.html

2. Reviewer: Michael Koresky (01/20/2010) / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1351-eclipse-series-19-chantal-akerman-in-the-seventies

3. Chantal Akerman interviewed by Miriam Rosen: “In Her Own Time”, Art Forum (April, 2004): http://mariangoodman.com/sites/default/files/Art%20Forum%20(April%202004).pdf​

.

Walden articles:
1. Reviewer: Joseph Jon Lanthier (8/25/2009) / Slant Magazine

http://www.slantmagazine.com/film/review/diaries-notes-and-sketches-also-known-as-walden/4380

.

.

.

Class #24: Thursday, April 13

.

Born in Flames (US, 1983: Lizzie Borden)

Short: Asparagus (US, 1979: Suzan Pitt)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Rob Gonsalves / eFilmCritic

http://efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16149&reviewer=416

2. Reviewer: Marjorie Baumgarten (06/22/2001) / The Austin Chronicle

featuring an interview with Lizzie Borden

http://www.austinchronicle.com/screens/2001-06-22/82164/

Week 13

.

Class #25: Tuesday, April 18

.

Mishima (US, 1985: Paul Schrader)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (12/15/2007) / Chicago Sun-Times:

http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20071215/REVIEWS08/71215001/1023

2. Reviewer: Noel Megahey / DVD Times: 05-09-2001 09:00

http://film.thedigitalfix.com/content/id/4073/mishimalife-in-four-chapters.html

.

.

.

Class #26: Thursday, April 20

.

Wings of Desire (W. Germany, 1987: Wim Wenders)

.

Articles:

1. Author: Wim Wenders - "On Wings of Desire" / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1290-on-wings-of-desire

2. Author: Wim Wenders - "An Attempted Description of an Indescribable Film" / Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1289-an-attempted-description-of-an-indescribable-film

3. Reviewer: Michael Atkinson (11/03/2009)  / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1288-wings-of-desire-watch-the-skies

4. Roger Ebert: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/great-movie-wings-of-desire-1988

Week 14

.

Class #27: Tuesday, April 25

.

Frameup (USA, 1993: Jon Jost)

Short: Sincerely, Joe P. Bear (US, 1999: Matt McCormick)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (March 10, 1995) / RogerEbert.com:http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/19950310/REVIEWS/503100302/1023

2. Reviewer: TV Guide / http://www.tvguide.com/movies/frameup/review/130631

3. Reviewer: Jonathan Rosenbaum / The Chicago Reader: http://onfilm.chicagoreader.com/movies/capsules/12448_FRAMEUP.html

.

.

.

Class #28: Thursday, April 27

.

The Baby of Mâcon (UK, 1993: Peter Greenaway)

Shorts: H is for House / Windows (UK, 1973/75: Peter Greenaway)

.

Articles:

1. Reviewer: John Linton Roberson / EFilmCritic.com: http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2213

2. Reviewer: Keith Allen / MovieRapture.com: http://www.movierapture.com/babyofmacon.htm

Week 15

.

Class #31: Tuesday, May 2

Code Unknown: Incomplete Tales of Several Journeys (France/Germany/Romania, 2000: Michael Haneke)

Articles

1.Reviewer: Slarek / CineOutsider: http://www.cineoutsider.com/reviews/dvd/c/code_unknown.html

2. Reviewer: Jeremy Heilman / Movie Martyr.com: http://www.moviemartyr.com/2001/codeunknown.htm

.

.

.

Class #32: Thursday, May 11

Superstar: The Karen Carpenter Story (US, 1988: Todd Haynes)

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Rob Gonsalves / EFilmCritic.com: http://efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=14832&reviewer=416

 

Elephant (US, 2003: Gus Van Sant)

Articles:

1. Reviewer: Dustin Putman / The Movie Boy: http://themovieboy.com/reviews/e/03_elephant.htm

2. Reviewer: Roger Ebert / RogerEbert.com

http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/elephant-2003

Week 16

.

Class #31: Tuesday, May 9

Enter the Void (France, 2009: Gaspar Noé)

1. Reviewer: Manohla Dargis (09/23/2010) / The New York Times

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/24/movies/24enter.html?_r=0

2. Reviewer: Steve Rose (09/16/2010) / The Guardian: "Gaspar Noé: 'What's the problem?'"

http://www.theguardian.com/film/2010/sep/16/gaspar-noe-enter-the-void

3. Interviewer: Edward Douglas (09/23/2010) / ComingSoon.net: "Sex and Drugs and Gaspar Noé"

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/features/69898-exclusive-sex-and-drugs-and-gaspar-noe

.

Class #32: Thursday, May 11

The Tree of Life (US, 2011: Terrence Malick)

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (05/17/2011) / SunTimes.com: http://www.rogerebert.com/rogers-journal/a-prayer-beneath-the-tree-of-life

2. Reviewer: Nick Pinkerton (05/25/2011) / The Village Voice: http://www.villagevoice.com/2011-05-25/film/the-difficult-gifts-of-the-tree-of-life/

 

Interim Chairman, The Film School