Skip to main content

Film 2201/3301 20th CENTURY FILM HISTORY: Home

Online Articles

Class #1: Tuesday, August 29

 

The Boy Friend (UK/US, 1971: Ken Russell)

 

1. Review: Ken Hanke (05/30/2004) / MountainXpress (Asheville, North Carolina):

http://mountainx.com/movies/reviews/boy_friend1/

2. Review: Danny (07/21/14) / Pre-code.com:

http://pre-code.com/pre-code-retro-boy-friend-1971-review-twiggy/

 

 

Class #2: Thursday, August 31

 

The Birth of Cinema

 

1. Tim Dirks / AMC Filmsite: Film History of the Pre-1920s, Parts 1 & 2

Part 1: http://www.filmsite.org/pre20sintro.html

Part 2: http://www.filmsite.org/pre20sintro2.html

 

 

Class #3: Tuesday, Sept. 5

 

Early Pioneers: Griffith / Weber / Keaton

 

1. Tim Dirks / AMC Filmsite: Film History of the Pre-1920s, Parts 3-5

Part 3: http://www.filmsite.org/pre20sintro3.html

Part 4: http://www.filmsite.org/pre20sintro4.html

Part 5: http://www.filmsite.org/pre20sintro5.html

2. Hypocrites (US, 1915: Lois Weber): http://mikegrost.com/weber.htm

3. Sherlock Jr. (US, 1924: Buster Keaton): http://www.combustiblecelluloid.com/sherlock.shtml

 

Class #4: Thursday, Sept. 7

The Thief of Bagdad (US, 1924: Raoul Walsh)

1. Reviewer: Tim Brayton (12/09/2007) / Antagony & Ecstasy
http://antagonie.blogspot.com/2007/12/miracle-marvelous-rare.html
2. Reviewer: MovieDiva - Film Curator at the North Carolina Museum of Art (NCMA)
http://www.moviediva.com/MD_root/reviewpages/MDThiefofBagdad.htm
 

Class #5: Tuesday, Sept. 12
 
Battleship Potemkin (USSR, 1925: Sergei Eisenstein)
 
1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (07/19/1998) / RogerEbert.com: Great Movies
 
 

Article on Eisenstein:

Author: Dan Shaw / Senses of Cinema

http://sensesofcinema.com/2004/great-directors/eisenstein/

 
 
* You owe it to yourselves as filmmakers to read these two essays by Eisenstein. both of which appear in his text "Film Form":
1) The Cinematographic Principle and the Ideogram:
2) A Dialectic Approach to Film Form:

https://monoskop.org/images/7/7c/Eisenstein_Sergei_Film_Form_Essays_in_Film_Theory_1977.pdf

 

 

Class #6: Tuesday, Sept. 14

 

The Cabinet Of Dr. Caligari (Germany, 1920: Robert Wiene)

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (06/03/09) / RogerEbert.com: Great Movies

http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20090603/REVIEWS08/906039987/1023

 

 

 

 

Sunrise (US, 1927: F.W. Murnau)

 

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (04/11/2004) / RogerEbert.com

http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20040411/REVIEWS08/404110301/1023/

2. Reviewer: Jonathan Rosenbaum (01/31/2004) / JonathanRosenbaum.com

http://www.jonathanrosenbaum.net/2004/01/the-stuff-of-dreams-on-sunrise/​

3. Reviewer: J. Hoberman (08/31/2004) / The Village Voice

http://www.villagevoice.com/2004-08-31/film/through-a-looking-glass/1/

4. This link illustrates the matting technique used to shoot that great city-kiss scene in Sunrisehttp://vimeo.com/70304814  [the specific shot is discussed at 4:37]

 

 

 

 
Class #7: Tuesday, Sept. 19
 
(Germany, 1931: Fritz Lang)
 
1. Fritz Lang: My Film M: A Factual Report: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1457-my-film-m-a-factual-report
2. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (08/03/1997) / RogerEbert.com: 
3. Reviewer: Matthew Dessem (05/24/2005) / The Criterion Contraption:
 
 
 
Class #8: Thursday, Sept. 21
 

It Happened One Night (US, 1934: Frank Capra)

 

1. Reviewer: Tim Dirks / AMC Filmsite: http://www.filmsite.org/itha.html

2. Reviewer: Dan Schneider / Alt Film Guide: http://www.altfg.com/blog/film-reviews/it-happened-one-night-frank-capra/

3. For the restrictions of the Hays Code, check out the Wikipedia entry for Motion Picture Production Code: 
Class #9 - Tuesday, Sept. 26
 
The Rules of the Game (France, 1939: Jean Renoir)
 
1. Reviewer: Alexander Sesonske (12/31/03) / The Criterion Collection: 

2. The British newspaper The Guardian ran a short essay series called “The Film That Changed My Life,” wherein Italian director Bernardo Bertolucci wrote lovingly of Jean Renoir’s The Rules of the Game. http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2010/feb/28/film-changed-life-bernardo-bertolucci

 

 
 
Class #10 - Thursday, Sept. 28
 
The Triumph of the Will (Germany, 1935: Leni Riefenstahl)
 
1. Beardy Freak Review: http://www.beardyfreak.com/rvwill.php
 

Mrs. Miniver (US, 1942: William Wyler)
 
1. A review from the time of its release: Reviewer: Herb Golden (05/12/1942) / Variety: Film Reviews
http://www.variety.com/review/VE1117487978?refcatid=31
2. Reviewer: James Berardinelli (05/18/2010) / ReelViews.net: http://www.reelviews.net/php_review_template.php?identifier=2083
3. Reviewer: Le Apprenti (05/27/2004) / Movie-Vault.com: http://www.movie-vault.com/reviews/mrs-miniver/

 
 
Class #11 - Tuesday, October 3
 

Mildred Pierce  (US, 1945: Michael Curtiz)

 

1. Reviewer: Anthony Nield / TheDigitalFix.com: http://film.thedigitalfix.com/content/id/60335/mildred-pierce.html

2. Reviewer: Laura E. Austen / University of Maryland, Women's Studies: Mildred Pierce: A Women's Film or a Feminist Film?”

http://mith.umd.edu//WomensStudies/FilmReviews/M/mildred-pierce

 

 

 

 
Class #12 - Thursday, October 5

 

The Bicycle Thieves (Italy, 1948: Vittorio De Sica)

 

1. Reviewer: Godfrey Cheshire (02/12/07) / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/467-bicycle-thieves-a-passionate-commitment-to-the-real

2. Reviewer: Charles Burnett (02/12/07) / The Criterion Collection

http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1090-bicycle-thieves-ode-to-the-common-man

 

 

 

 

Class #13 - Tuesday, October 10

 

Rashomon (Japan, 1950: Akira Kurosawa)

 

1. Kurosawa reflects on "Rashomon" / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/196-akira-kurosawa-on-rashomon

2. Reviewer: Stephen Prince / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/195-rashomon

 

 

 

Class #14 - Thursday, October 12

 

Pather Panchali (Song of the Little Road) (India, 1955: Satyajit Ray)

 

1) Reviewer: James Berardinelli / ReelViews: http://www.reelviews.net/php_review_template.php?identifier=848

2) Reviewer: André Crous (07/12/2011) / CelluloidParadiso: http://celluloidparadiso.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/pather-panchali-1955/

3) An article on Satyajit Ray by Helen Goritsas (05/21/2002) at Senses of Cinemahttp://sensesofcinema.com/2002/great-directors/ray/

 

 

 

 

Class #15: Tuesday, October 17

Rebel Without A Cause (US, 1955: Nicholas Ray)

1) Reviewer: Robert J. Landry (10/25/1955) / Variety: http://variety.com/1955/film/reviews/rebel-without-a-cause-1200417958/​

2) Reviewer: Ed Howard (10/12/07) / Only the Cinema: http://seul-le-cinema.blogspot.com/2007/10/1012-rebel-without-cause.html

 

 

Class #16: Thursday, October 19

Wild Strawberries (Sweden, 1957: Ingmar Bergman)

1) Reviewer: Peter Cowie / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/asp/release.asp?id=139&eid=203&section=essay&page=1

2) Reviewer: John Nesbit / Old School Reviews: http://oldschoolreviews.com/rev_50/wild_strawberries.htm

 

 

Class #17: Tuesday, October 24

Contempt (France, 1963: Jean-Luc Godard)

OHWC: Modern Intro (pgs.463-465) / New Directions (576-582) / New Concepts (750-754) / Godard (752)

1) Reviewer: Phillip Lopate (12/09/02) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/240-contempt-the-story-of-a-marriage

2) Reviewer: Roger Ebert (09/05/97) / Rogerebert.suntimes.com: http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/19970905/REVIEWS/709050301/1023

 

 

 

Class #18: Thursday, October 26

The Battle of Algiers (Italy/Algiers, 1966: Gillo Pontecorvo)

1. Reviewer: Peter Matthews / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/342-the-battle-of-algiers-bombs-and-boomerangs

2. Reviewer: Ron Briley / American Historical Association: https://www.historians.org/publications-and-directories/perspectives-on-history/october-2010/terrorism-on-screen-lessons-from-the-battle-of-algiers

 

 

Class #19: Tuesday, October 31

Innocence Unprotected (Yugoslavia, 1968: Dušan Makavejev)

Daisies (Czechoslovakia, 1966: Věra Chytilová)

Innocence Unprotected: Reviewer: Michael Koresky (10/13/2009) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1250-eclipse-series-18-dusan-makavejev-free-radical

Daisies: Reviewer: Michael Koresky (04/25/2012) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/2269-eclipse-series-32-pearls-of-the-czech-new-wave

 

 

Class #20: Thursday, November 2

Easy Rider (US, 1969: Dennis Hopper)

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (09/28/1969) / RogerEbert.com: http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/19690928/REVIEWS/909280301

2. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (10/24/2004) / RogerEbert.com: Great Movies: http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20041024/REVIEWS08/410240301/1023

 

 

Class #21: Tuesday, November 7

Aguirre, the Wrath of God (W. Germany, 1972: Werner Herzog)

1. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (04/04/1999) / RogerEbert.com: http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/19990404/REVIEWS08/904040301/1023

2. Reviewer: Dan Schneider (12/13/2008) / No Ripcord: http://www.noripcord.com/reviews/film/aguirre-wrath-god

3. Reviewer: David Coursen (07/05/2009) / Parallax-view.org: http://parallax-view.org/2009/07/05/aguirre-the-wrath-of-god-defying-the-natural-order/

 

 

Class #22: Thursday, November 9

Picnic at Hanging Rock (Australia, 1975: Peter Weir)

1. Reviewer: Vincent Canby / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/40

2. Reviewer: Roger Ebert (08/02/1998) / RogerEbert.com: http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/19980802/REVIEWS08/401010325/1023

3. Author: Michael J. Bayly - Rock of Ages: Theological Reflections on Picnic at Hanging Rock: http://www.cpinternet.com/~mbayly/rockofages.htm

 

 

Class #23: Tuesday, November 14

The Meetings of Anna (Belgium, 1978: Chantal Akerman)

Oxford History of World Cinema: New Concepts (pgs.754-759) / Akerman (755)

1) Reviewer: Michael Koresky (01/20/2010) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/1351-eclipse-series-19-chantal-akerman-in-the-seventies

2) Reviewer: Jamie S. Rich (01/20/2010) / DVDTalk.com: http://www.dvdtalk.com/reviews/40390/eclipse-series-19-chantal-akerman-in-the-seventies/

3) Reviewer: Nick Davis / NicksFlickPicks.com: http://www.nicksflickpicks.com/rendanna.html

4) Reviewer: Darren Hughes (07/05/2010) / The Daily Notebook: http://mubi.com/notebook/posts/the-details-les-rendez-vous-danna-akerman-1978

 

 

 

Class #24: Thursday, November 16

Apocalypse Now (US, 1979: Francis Ford Coppola)

Oxford History: New Tech (pgs.483-490) / Exploitation (509-515) / Dreams & Nightmares (516-216)

1) Background: Tim Dirks / AMC Filmsite: http://www.filmsite.org/apoc.html

2) Review: Roger Ebert / RogerEbert.com: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/apocalypse-now-1979

3) Reviewer: Roger Ebert / RogerEbert.com: Great Movies: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/great-movie-apocalypse-now-1979

4) Francis Ford Coppola interviewed by Greil Marcus for Rolling Stone (11/01/1979):

http://cinetropolis.net/notes-from-the-frontline-1979-rolling-stone-interview-with-apocalypse-now-director-francis-ford-coppola/

 

 

Class #25: Tuesday, November 21

Carmen (Spain, 1983: Carlos Saura)

Oxford History of World Cinema: Spain After Franco (pgs.596-603)

1) Reviewer: Michael Koresky (11/15/2007) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/644

2) Reviewer: Metalluk (4/06/2005) / Epinions.com: http://www.epinions.com/review/mvie_mu-1003594/content_179203313284

 

 

Class #26: Thursday, November 23: Thanksgiving Holiday - No Class

 

 

Class #27: Tuesday, November 28

Brazil (UK, 1985: Terry Gilliam)

Oxford History of World Cinema: British Cinema (pgs.604-613)

1) Reviewer: Jack Mathews (09/27/1999) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/59-brazil

2) Reviewer: Tim Dirks (09/27/1999) / AMC FilmSite: http://www.filmsite.org/braz.html

 

 

Class #28: Thursday, November 30

Do the Right Thing (US, 1989: Spike Lee)

Oxford History: Black Presence in American Cinema (pgs.497-509) / Lee (508)

1) Reviewer: Roger Ebert (06/30/1989) / Chicago Sun-Times: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/do-the-right-thing-1989

2) Reviewer: Roger Ebert (05/27/2001) / Chicago Sun-Times: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/great-movie-do-the-right-thing-1989

3) Interview: Spike Lee Speaks About Do the Right Thing 20 Years later: http://www.theroot.com/multimedia/spike-lee-speaks-about-do-right-thing-20-years-later/?gt1=38002

Spike Lee, in a conversation with Henry Louis Gates Jr., The Root's Editor-in-Chief, calls out the critics who predicted violence at the release of his groundbreaking 1989 film and clarifies what the "right thing" really was.

 

 

Class #29: Tuesday, December 5

Taste of Cherry (Iran, 1997: Abbas Kiarostami)

Oxford History of World Cinema: Iranian Cinema (pgs.672-678)

1) Reviewer: Godfrey Cheshire (05/31/1999) / The Criterion Collection: http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/55-taste-of-cherry

2) Reviewer: Jonathan Rosenbaum (05/29/1998) / Chicago Reader: http://www.jonathanrosenbaum.com/?p=6553

3) Reviewer: metalluk (02/04/2006) / Epinions.com: http://www.epinions.com/review/mvie_mu-1085459/content_154984418948

4) Stanford University: Abbas Kiarostami Articles & Interviews: http://www.stanford.edu/group/psa/events/1999-00/kiarostami/articles.utf8.html

 

 

Class #30: Thursday, December 7

The Celebration (Denmark, 1998: Thomas Vinterberg)

Oxford History of World Cinema: Resurgence (pgs.759-766)

1) Reviewer: Jonathan Rosenbaum / JonathanRosenbaum.com: http://www.jonathanrosenbaum.com/?p=6520

2) Reviewer: Noel Megahey (12.18.2005) / Home Cinema @ The Digital Fix: http://film.thedigitalfix.com/content/id/59674/the-celebration-festen.html

 

 

Class #31: Tuesday, December 12

Amores Perros [Love's a Bitch] (Mexico, 2000: Alejandro González Iñárritu)

1) Reviewer: Richard Schickel (04/08/2001) / Time Magazine: http://www.time.com/time/printout/0,8816,105599,00.html

2) Reviewer: Kevin Devine / PopMatters.com: http://www.popmatters.com/pm/review/amores-perros/

 

 

Class #32: Thursday, December 14

Mulholland Dr. (US, 2001: David Lynch)

Oxford History of World Cinema: Avant-Garde (pgs.537-550)

1) Reviewer: Roger Ebert (10/12/2001) / RogerEbert.com: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/mulholland-drive-2001

2) "A Slow Ride down Mulholland Dr." by Christopher Jarmick (July, 2006) / Senses of Cinema: Issue 40: http://sensesofcinema.com/2006/cteq/mulholland-dr/

3) "Amnesia, Obsession, Cinematic U-Turns: On Mulholland Drive by Kirsten Ostherr, Arash Abizadeh (March, 2002) / Senses of Cinema: Issue 19: http://sensesofcinema.com/2002/david-lynch-and-mulholland-drive/mulholland_amnesia/

4) "The Perils of Fantasy: Memory and Desire in David Lynch’s Mulholland Drive" by Clint Stivers (June, 2014) / Senses of Cinema: Issue 71: http://sensesofcinema.com/2014/feature-articles/the-perils-of-fantasy-memory-and-desire-in-david-lynchs-mulholland-drive/

Textbooks

 

Required:

The Oxford History of World Cinema, by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith [Oxford University Press (1999); ISBN-13: 978-0-19-874242-5]

 

Suggested:

An Introduction to World Cinema, by Aristides Gazetas [McFarland & Co. (2008); ISBN-13: 978-0-7864-3907-2]

A History of Film, by Virginia Wright Wexman [Pearson Education Inc. (2010); ISBN-13: 978-0-205-62528-4]

Film Art: An Introduction, by David Bordwell and Kristin Thompson [McGraw-Hill (2010); ISBN-13: 978-0-07-338616-4]

 

Websites

Internet Movie Database: http://www.imdb.com/

The Bible of Filmmaking Resources, from credit lists to external reviews.

 

American Cinema - AMC FilmSite: http://www.filmsite.org/filmh.html

This site by Tim Dirks is a rich resource of every aspect of American cinema - a compilation of history, reviews, and AFI's “Greatest” lists. A useful Glossary of Film Terminology can also be found there at: http://www.filmsite.org/filmterms.html

 

British Film Institute - Best Film List: http://explore.bfi.org.uk/sightandsoundpolls/2012

Once a decade, BFI's Sight & Sound magazine asks critics to select the Greatest Films of All Time. The 2012 edition is compiled from 846 top-ten lists from critics, academics and other cinephiles in 73 countries, citing 2,045 different films. Citizen Kane topped the poll in every decade from 1962 to 2002, until now… The previous Sight & Sound poll from 2002: http://www.bfi.org.uk/sightandsound/topten/.  Along with the list of 100 films, you can also access the top-10 lists of the individual voters.

 

Senses of Cinema: http://www.sensesofcinema.com/index.html

An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. 

Interim Chairman, The Film School