CHASE AND NEWHALL LIBRARIES

In addition to the circulating and special collections at Fogelson Library, there are two other collections at Santa Fe University of Art and Design: the Chase Art History collection and the Beaumont and Nancy Newhall Photography collection. These collections are located in intimate reading rooms that operate on limited hours. 

 

CHASE 

The Chase Art History Library is an undergraduate library with resources for conducting research in the history of the arts, archaeology, anthropology, and history of the Americas. The collection concentration is in the areas of Pre-Columbian Mesoamerica and South America, Andean art, Native America, Spanish Colonial art and architecture, modern Latin America, and art of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The Chase collections include many rare books and other items not available at other institutions. The Chase Art History Library is located in the Thaw Art History Center.

 

 

NEWHALL

The Beaumont and Nancy Newhall Library at the Marion Center for Photographic Arts is one of the foremost information resources for conducting research in the history and the aesthetics of photography in the United States.

The Newhall Library is a special collections library supporting the curriculum, research and educational needs of Santa Fe University of Art and Design faculty and students, scholars, and people from the Santa Fe community.

The core library collections consist of the private research libraries of Beaumont and Nancy Newhall, and James Enyeart and Roxanne Malone, as well as several smaller collections from notable photographers, scholars, collectors and interested individuals. The library is grateful for generous support from Aperture Foundation, Arena Editions, Twin Palms Publishers / Twelve Trees Press, Photo Eye Bookstore, and members of the Marion Center Circle.

Together, the Beaumont and Nancy Newhall and James Enyeart and Roxanne Malone collections cover aspects of the history, aesthetics, and technology of photography. Primary materials encompass the history of photography, from the invention of photography to limited, signed and inscribed editions by numerous photographic historians and photographers with scholarly notations and marginalia. International in scope, these collections cover a wide range of applications of artistic photography in modern culture.

In addition to monographs and serials, the Newhall Library collections include artists' monographs, journals of photographic societies, posters, calendars, ephemera, audiotapes and videotapes, and research, manuscript and correspondence files.

The collections have been cataloged noting the signatures and inscriptions, affiliated and ephemeral material, and the scholarly notations and marginalia.

To ensure preservation and maintenance, the Beaumont and Nancy Newhall and James Enyeart and Roxanne Malone collections are housed in secure stack areas. Environmental conditions in this area are carefully monitored to insure a stable temperature and humidity within ranges appropriate for the preservation of special materials.

The Newhall Library opened in 2000.

CLOSED FOR REMODELING. BOOKS ARE IN STORAGE AT FOGELSON LIBRARY.